PDA

View Full Version : please help..planted tanks and new discus?

jjv
05-01-2003, 11:29 AM
i am a hobbyist, and fairly new at it (I have had a 100 litre tank for a year with Gouramis, albino sharks, Black ghost knife fish etc. etc. for a year) I am now installing a rather large tank (100"x24"x30") and was planning to make it a planted discus tank....unfortunately, i don't have adequate knowledge on the subject and am very confused with various conflicting suggestions on the net/ LFS. One LFS is suggesting fine gravel, metal halides, CO2 injection through a pressurized cylinder system and a dry/wet biological filter (too, tooo expensive!!), powerheads. The other LFS says that i dont require any fancy stuff, so he suggests dumping of the CO2 system, Metal halides (flou tubes instead), Bio filter (undergravel or other filters instead). Please suggest essential yet affordable options for a great planted tank which works for discus. I live in India where the water quality is not that great and fish stores/hobbyists are far and few.I would really appreciate your inputs on the substrate, lighting, filtration and any other valuable essentials for my proposed tank. Most importantly, if i add smaller discus (<2") at regular intervals (a pair every month) in the planted tank, will they grow healthily to their full size/ colour since this is a large tank or will i still have to make them grow in a BB tank and then transfer them to the planted once they are larger? (Personally, i would be happier if i added them to the planted tank regularly)

Waiting expectantly for a response. ??? :idea2: ???

TnMark
05-01-2003, 01:05 PM
I am not yet an expert on Discus, but I'll comment on what I've done in my 135 gallon tank.