PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus, Just bought fish, HIH Problem!

chewy7
05-05-2003, 02:17 AM
hi,
this is my first time keeping discus and i read threw the forum on all the good tips! but the guy i bought mine of didnt have good lighting, so i didnt notice the holes in the head. i bought them about 5hrs ago and now i notice this problem. how do i go about treating it? or do i just return it to the guy? i paid a lot of money and got 8 of them at 4-5cm.

any help is much appreciated.
thanks
shane

April
05-05-2003, 02:21 AM
hi. are they holes as in pot holes? and sporadic. as they do have two holes..as nostrils...
not sure what you can do. guess you could call him and say they have holes...obviously didnt get there in a few hours...
but if you chose them...then he may say you chose those ones.
good luck. let us know how it goes.
and welcome to the forum.
stick around.

Carol_Roberts
05-05-2003, 02:26 AM
Discus have nostrils or sensory organs on their face. Look at the pits . . . are they in about the same place on each side of the head? If yes, that is normal.

How old are your discus? If they are juveniles a few months old it isn't hith. If they are adults, they are stunted and it most likely is hith - if thats the case take them back.

chewy7
05-05-2003, 02:54 AM
hi all,
thank you so much for the quick replys. do they have 8 nostrals? they are about 5-8cm in size. do they get hole in the head about that size? the breeder picked them out for me as i have no idea what to choose. i have 2X Marlboro reds, 2X Ocean Green, 2 X Turqoise, 2X Browns.

thanks,
shane

chewy7
05-05-2003, 02:56 AM
here are some pics of the discus,
Thanks

chewy7
05-05-2003, 02:57 AM
some more pics

chewy7
05-05-2003, 02:57 AM
more

chewy7
05-05-2003, 03:10 AM
hiya,