PDA

View Full Version : is it necessary?

Tex
05-17-2003, 11:06 AM
I am new to Discus and i was wondering, is it necessary for them to have a place to hide? I have 7 discus in a 90 gallon tank, with nothing in the tank but a sponge filter.

Tex

CARY_GLdiscus
05-17-2003, 11:30 AM
Hi Tex,
If You give it to them They will hide.

I add nothing but a sponge + a heater to All my tanks.
But another good thing to do would be to paint your sides back and bottom with a light colored latex exterior home depot
paint.

After that They should Thrive ;D ;D ;D

hth

Cary Gld!

Tex
05-17-2003, 08:24 PM
yep, i do have the back and bottom painted. Should I consider painting the sides

Carol_Roberts
05-17-2003, 10:21 PM
Nothing but filters and heaters in my tanks too. No paint on the walls or back either. Healthy fish get used to my tanks in a two weeks or less.

chirohorn
05-18-2003, 05:10 PM
Don't paint the sides if you want to look in from there! Some folks do it if they have adult tanks side by side - that way the breeders aren't stressed out by other fish.

FrankLuvsDiscus
05-20-2003, 02:08 PM
:D I have my bottom and back and 1 side covered with background instead of paint and there alot more comfortable. Discus hate shadows and sudden movement so the less they can see of that the better.

I do have some decoration in my tank...... its BB but i have some driftwood in there for visual appeal ...... they hide behind it only when my hands are in the tank cleaning the sides and vacuuming during a w/c but as soon as my hands are out of there and my w/c is done they come right back out in the open...... its a matter of them getting used to a routine.

Uh, i have read and IMO discus become more brave the less oppurtunity you give them to hide.... so i guess the point is if you have no decor in the tank for them to hide the more you'll see them and the less skittish they'll be.

Hmmmm, its got me thinking ...
Franko

Tristanyyz
05-20-2003, 11:57 PM