PDA

View Full Version : Bringing home new discus...

neo_44
06-05-2003, 12:33 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to discus and have a few questions:

1. Do I need to keep the exact same water temp as the breeder?
(is there an ideal temp?)
2. What's the best way to get new discus adjusted to my tank conditions?
3. If I don't feed them for the first day or so (I expect they'll be stressed from the move and won't eat), does this mean I don't have
to do the daily water change?
4. Lights on or lights off??

Thanks everyone, this is a really informative site! Best one I've found on the net! ;D

Oh yeah, just for the record, I have a 55g with gravel.

Carol_Roberts
06-05-2003, 01:26 AM
Hi Neo and welcome to Simplydiscus :wave:

1) When I bring get new discus I have the temp a little higher than the breeder for the first several days - about 88 degrees.

2) If your pH is .5 or more lower than the breeder you can adjust your tank to the conditions the discus are used to. What is the pH of your water? IF your pH is lower than the breeder you can raise it with a little baking soda. IF the pH of your water is a little higher than the breeder don't try to lower it. Discus can easily adajust to water a little higher in pH.

3) You will be putting the discus in a clean tank with fresh water and a fully cycled filter. You do not need to do a water change the first day.

4) lights off mostly . . .

55 gallon is a good size for 6-8 baby discus. What type of filter do you have and how are you cycling it? I Hate Gravel :-X :o

neo_44
06-05-2003, 02:13 AM
Thanks for the quick reply Carol :D

Let's see,

I'm not sure what the breeders tank conditions are. My PH comes out of the tap at 7.2 and aged water is about the same, a shade higher.