PDA

View Full Version : AmQuel Chlorine remover ?

tau
06-19-2003, 04:29 PM
Hi, I am just starting out in this hobby. I got my first two discus today actually. Currently I am using Kordon AmQuel to remove Chlorimines and chlorine out of the water. Can anyone tell me if this product is any good at taking the chlorine out of my tap?

ronrca
06-19-2003, 04:33 PM
I have never used it but it claims it does remove ammonia, chlorine and chloramine according to www.bigalsonline.com
;)

I think you should be safe!
http://www.enkoi.com/water_treatments/amquel.html

tau
06-19-2003, 04:42 PM
I'm saving up for a R/O system. But for now I just want to be sure that this stuff really works.

06-19-2003, 05:18 PM
Hi :wave: Tau.....

Welcome to SimplyDiscus :thumbsup:

I use Amquel and it's been working great for me ;)

When using Amquel if you test for ammonia...... "Don't" be surprised if your ammonia readings are through the roof :o I can't remember right off hand what brand test kit I used but it showed False readings for ammonia :o

I just want to give you a heads up on that ;) ...... find out which test kit you'll be needing for Amquel.

Beth

tau
06-19-2003, 05:21 PM
Oh what a relieve. I glad someone uses AmQuel. Thanks Beth!! ;)

blaze
06-19-2003, 07:12 PM
like Beth said...

amquel is great :), You can't go wrong with Amquel. I use it in the Goldfish tanks, (not so frequent water changes)

but it can not be used with any "nessler regent" ammonia test kits, it will give wierd/false readings.

It must be used with Salictate ammonia test kits, like;
Kordon's AquaTru
'Aquarium Pharmaceuticals' Ammonia test kit, the one in the yellow box, with the 2 bottles, thats the one i use . warning it will last u a long time 130 test. :)

ronrca
06-19-2003, 07:16 PM
I use the Aquarium Pharm. test kits and they gave me false readings too. I have chloramines in my tap. But I was using the old version they had, the one with only 1 bottle.

bloom
06-19-2003, 08:31 PM