PDA

View Full Version : How fast discus grows?

jeddah
07-08-2003, 05:07 AM
Hi guys! nice to join the forum, this is my first time actually.

By the way, I am really new to discus and I think I am going to love this fish from the day I got some.

Last week I got my very first discus, 3 of them, 2 inches in lenght, I don't even know what kind of discus are they but their colors are nice.

I'm very excited to see them get to full size to see the actual color.

Can anybody tell me how fast discus grows?
How old are my 2-inch discus?
What is the biggest size they can reach?

By the way my tank is around 25 Gal.
Temp=29-30C
I don't know the PH (no tester around)
Single bio filter
With gravel and plants
....is my setup ok for discus?

Let me hear from you guys!
Many Thanks

Jovel

Ardan
07-08-2003, 06:41 AM
HI,
If discus are well cared for, good food, good wc's, big enough tank and not crowded, then they can grow 1 inch/month for the first couple months and then they usually slow down growing a bit, maybe 1/2 to 3/4 inch /month.
Full grown I have heard 9 inches, maybe a bit more. Mine are about 6 inches.

hth

jeddah
07-08-2003, 08:31 AM
many thanks hth

angel12
07-08-2003, 08:51 AM
Good Question But at what point/age do they stop growing ... is there a General rule of thumb for example at say 18 months they would be approx 5" ? Is it true that they continue to grow until about the 2-21/2 Year point

Carol_Roberts
07-08-2003, 07:54 PM
Hi Jovel and Welcome to Simply Discus :wave:

You are starting out just like I did. . . ;) Your new little discus may not grow very big at all in your planted, graveled tank. My first two survivors grew to be about 3 inches and 4 inches after 2 years.

Juvenile discus grow best in bare tanks with daily water changes of the same temperature and pH and lots of good food.