PDA

View Full Version : I'm a real beginner with Discus i need HELP

Abercrombie6202
08-09-2003, 08:34 PM
I have a 75 gallon aquarium, been up for about 4-5 months now. It's a planted tank and i wnat it to be an amazon theme tnak with discus and other amozonian fish. I've been keeping fish since October, 2002, so i'm not a beginner with tropical fish.

The tank is going to inhabit
3 discus(about 3 inches right now, haven't bought them yet)
2 angelfish
12 tetras
6 hatchets
6 cories
1 clown pleco
1 farlowella
2 rams
3 pencilfish

Some people told me that this is too little for 75, some said it's too much, some have said you should get rid of the the 2 angelfish and get atleast 5 discus. I'm also wodnering would the discus eat the smaller fish like the pencilfish?

Another problem is does the PH really have to be at 6.0-6.5? My PH right now is at 7.8, becuase my tap water is 7.8 and if i do lower it should i lower it with chemicals or peat?

How many water changes would i have to do? and isn't it difficult to do daily water changes, becuase u have to add that chemical stuff that gets rid of the chlorine, don't you? Will the fish get stressed?

How do i get good live food for my discus i heard California Black worms would be good or the beefheart mixture, but i don't know how to make the beefheart thing and won't that cloud my water?

I might have forgot about some questions, but if you can help me with any more advice that would be appreciated very much!!

chinoz
08-09-2003, 11:26 PM
Welcome to Simply,

I have been in the discus hobby for about 6 months now, and Simply is the best place to get information. I will try my best to answer your question.

First of all your 75 gal tank is fine, perfect for about 7-8 discus. I have a 75 gal tank like yours but i have like 28 discus in the tank.. With this large amount of discus, you have to do 100% W/C (water change) everyday. Since you are a beginer, i suggest stick with 5-7 discus.