PDA

View Full Version : Grow-out tanks

Abercrombie6202
08-18-2003, 06:25 PM
lets say eventually i have a few discus that breed, what is a good size tank for grow-out tanks, is it okay to seperate the babies, half in one tank, half in the other?

I was thinking about getting a stand that could hold 2 55 gallons and then eventually when i have enough money get 2 55 gallons, would an average Iron stand support 2 tanks

richgrenfell
08-18-2003, 06:54 PM
Just my personal opinion but I don't really trust the iron stands on the market these days. I have a 90 gallon tank, and I went to a welding shop and had it made.

You can use 55's as grow outs, but i'd suggest that you either cull the batches way back or be prepared to do 2 50% water changes per day if you want to stock it heavy.

again, just my opinion, i'm no expert....

Rich

Willie
08-18-2003, 09:40 PM
I used to have all my 55's on wrought iron double stands. As Rich says, the new ones are really cheaply made. I've switched out of most of them, primarily because it was hard to clean the lower one. Never had a double stand go on me. I've even done 75's on double stands. If you're on a budget, you can usually find stands real cheap at the local fish club or in the classified ads.

55's are the most cost efficient tanks you can buy, but stay away from used ones. Once the top cross brace goes (and they usually go within 6 months in a used 55), the whole tank will bow out. Unless you're prepared to do the repairs yourself, stay away from the old ones.

When you raise young, the toughest part is to give them enough water to maintain quality conditions while keeping them in a small space so they can find the food. You can do this buy not filling the 55 immediately. If you get one good batch, say ~100 frys, then you'll need two 55's to grow them to saleable size.

Good luck, Willie

richgrenfell
08-18-2003, 10:55 PM