PDA

View Full Version : Rack and water change/storage system

CanadianGuy
09-03-2003, 10:17 AM
Hey, everyone

I'm just starting to get serious about discus and was wondering if this rack system would work!

I used(stole? ::)) the preliminary drawing from ronrca, and modified it to what I hope will work for me! Thanks ronrca!!

The only thing I'm concerned about is using the same system to empty and fill the tanks...it seems to me that there will always be either some new or old water in the piping....should I be concerned about cross contamination between tanks and run one set of pipes to empty and another from the storage tanks??

Remember it's just an idea and I am still learning about all of this stuff!
Thanks!!

James

daninthesand
09-03-2003, 08:10 PM
Hi Canadian guy. Welcome to the forum.

Just to answer your question regarding contamination. YES DEFINITELY you will get cross contamination from tank to tank using the system you have pictured above. Ideally if you want to prevent contamination from tank to tank you need seperate empty/fill hoses for each tank. And seperate nets for each tank and wash your hands between each tank and and and and .....the list goes on and on. Not to mention a splash or two from an adjacent tank can contaminate that tank.

So bottom line nobody is perfect and cross contamination will occur. Its a fact of life in this hobby. Do you need to "worry" about it? Just do the best you can. And remember. QUARANTINE is always your best defence when introducing any new fish or plants to your fishroom.