PDA

View Full Version : KH to low

jc63
11-10-2003, 09:45 PM
Hi, I'm new to simply discus and this is my 1'st. post.I have been reading so much on the boards and I am overwelhmed by all the info.I have so many questions and I have found the answers to many of them by reading the boards.This is my question? How can I raise my KH without raising my GH and PH?
My tank is 65 gal.36x18x24.,2"sm gravel/latterite mix substrate,many rocks, 2 lg pieces driftwood,and lots of plants.Tank water ;amonia-0,nitrite-0,GH-8.5,KH-1,PH fluctuates between 6.3 to 7.3. I do water changes 2 to 3 times a week of 20,25gal by bucket.I use NovAqua tapwater conditioner by kordon in my water changes.I ad instant amazon 2tbs wkly: 5 tsp botanica grow,1tsp botanica K,1tbs fourish trace,6mls flourish iron wkly.

Lighting 110wat compact strip 1-55w 6700 & 1-55w 5300 :1-30w power glo light.
Fish 4 Discus(3@4+in,1@6+in),3 silver hatchets,4 rummynose,1 one-eyed cardinal tetra,5 corys,6 ottos,2 whiptails.
If I left anything out that might be important, I'll post it.
Thanks Shawn B.

Debbie
11-11-2003, 01:18 AM
You could put a bag of crushed coral in your filter. The crushed coral would slowly dissolve raising your KH enough to buffer your water so your pH wouldn't fluctuate so much.

ChloroPhil
11-11-2003, 08:57 AM
Welcome to Show Tanks and Biotopes JC! It's good to have a new face here.

I'm going to reply to your questions with a few of my own.

Are you supplimenting with CO2? That's about the only way you can increase KH without upping your pH.

Baking soda works really well as a KH buffer, so would Botanica KH. :)

Best,
Phil

jc63
11-11-2003, 11:35 AM
Thanks for the responses.I do not use co2.I am considering trying it but I'm not familiar with the process.I will research.
I have tryed the Botanica KH and was unsuccessful.It raised my ph to 8+ and my KH to 2dh.I have not tryed crushed corel or baking soda.Will this raise the GH and PH? Also at what dose should I use to raise the KH to 3 or 4 dh?