PDA

View Full Version : Sump Pump Experience

Haywire
11-17-2003, 11:28 PM
Guys/Gals

I'd appreciate some quick comments.

I'm looking for a pump to drive my tanks, I'm looking at either a mag 1800, dolphin DP-900, aquacave's MD40, lifegard quiet one. I was told by the LFS that the littlegiants make a lot noise, and that is a factor my research overlooked.

Basically I'm looking for honest opinions of what people are using.

Personally I've got a via aqua 3300 and I am sorely disappointed in it's performance.

Denny
11-19-2003, 12:12 AM
I just use a 1/6 hp utility pump. I believe the brand of mine is Wayne and it is rated at 960 gph. it was about 60 bucks and is pretty silent

ronrca
11-19-2003, 10:57 AM
I use Mag pumps and I like them a lot!

Harriett
11-19-2003, 04:07 PM
I've been using a Lifegard Quiet One for my 180g for 18 months and it is the quietist pump I've ever had. I'm totally happy with it.
Harriett

korbi_doc
11-19-2003, 05:00 PM
:bounce2: Interesting, can't find the invoice, but my inline pump for the Lifeguard system on the 90g says "Quiet One" & the name on top is Grundfos. A very quiet efficient pump, have to touch it to be sure its workin, love it. Submersible in the wetdry for the 125g, still have the Supreme Magdrive utility pump model 7, very old, probably over 15 yrs, just has a slight hum you have to be real close to hear, not noticeable, but it's also very old. lol, Dottie ;D

Paulio
11-21-2003, 12:40 AM
Mag Drive :thumbsup:

daninthesand
11-21-2003, 01:20 AM
The lifeguard pumps are built by the grundfos company. They make industrial pumps for things like central heating systems and are designed to run for decades. And as Dottie said, they are absolutely silent. They tend to be a bit on the pricey side but are dead quiet.

I own a few little giant pumps and they are powerful but they are a bit nosiy and put out a fair amount of heat. This is a concern if you are going to run the pump in an enclosed space with no ventilation.