PDA

View Full Version : General questions

wet head
11-20-2003, 12:27 AM
Hi,

I've been a tropical fish hobbyist for many years and am now considering owning discus for fun, not necessarily for breeding. I have a 55 gal tank with various small tetras.I'd like to know the answer to a few questions if someone could be so kind to answer.

1. The pH of my aged water is about 7.6. The same water not in my tank is on the acid side. What could be causing the pH to rise? The water is relatively soft (80PPM). I have 2 river rocks in the tank the size of a softball and about 2 inches of store bought aquarium gravel. Could either of these affect the pH? I've added some peat but so far have seen no effect. Should I even worry about it?

2. Are there any varieties of discus that are more hardy than others?

3. I'll probably buy fish in the 2 inch range. Should I raise them in a tank by themselves until they grow more before introducing them into the 55 gal? Should I buy more mature fish?

4. I've read the threads but are frequent water changes really necessary for non-breeding purposes?

Thanks for your help

Wet Head

Carol_Roberts
11-20-2003, 01:14 AM
. The pH of my aged water is about 7.6. The same water not in my tank is on the acid side. What could be causing the pH to rise? The water is relatively soft (80PPM). I have 2 river rocks in the tank the size of a softball and about 2 inches of store bought aquarium gravel. Could either of these affect the pH? I've added some peat but so far have seen no effect. Should I even worry about it? Probably your tap water contains CO2. Once the CO2 disapates the pH rises. Since you are aging your water don't worry about it

2. Are there any varieties of discus that are more hardy than others? Pigeonbloods and turquoise