PDA

View Full Version : from salt to Discus

Mountain Man
12-06-2003, 12:07 AM
Hi All! ;)
Newbie here in this forum! Have a 90gal Saltwater tank that will be emptied this week !my local dealer will pic my fish and live rocks and then I would like to find out how much of my setup I can keep to go to discus show tank!
I have a Hagen Fluval 404 and a Skimmer on outside of tank .... So what is usufull and what is not ? Bare with me ! im a old mountain fart! ;)so you will see me here regularly like every day *grin*

Carol_Roberts
12-06-2003, 01:10 AM
Discus tanks require hardly any equipment at all. All you need is a good heater and a basic hang on the back filter like an aqua clear 500 or even simply a few airdriven sponge filters. Water changes are the key to healthy, fast growing, brightly colored discus.

I would invest in a 55 gallon water storage barrel, a water pump (like a pond pump) and a hose to make water changes easier.

You'll want the basic test kits for pH, GH, KH, ammonia, nitrIte, nitrAte. These test kits will help you know when your tank is ready for discus and it's important to know what type of water you have.

Other than that have fun reading through the site. There is tons of information and pictures here.

Ardan
12-06-2003, 07:05 AM
Hi and Welcome!
As Carol said

I would invest in a 55 gallon water storage barrel, a water pump (like a pond pump) and a hose to make water changes easier

Be prepared to do lots of water changes, daily 30 to 50% is done by a lot of us.
Whatever you can do to make that easier on you. :)

April
12-07-2003, 12:54 AM
hi and welcome to simplydiscus . :wave: im a canadian also.just kinda on the opposite side and different ocean.
i agree with carol. water change water change and another water change. bare bottom tank...and stable water parameters . stored water makes them happier as no fluctuations.
and when your ready and youve read all through here.....then.find a good breeder who will help you with any questions etc.