PDA

View Full Version : Nov/Dec 2003 Member Spotlight - RandalB

DarkDiscus
12-18-2003, 02:03 PM
Everyone, I'm sorry about the delay on this spotlight. I have had a lot going on in the recent past - my wife had some surgery in early November, things were insane at work and I was short some help here in the office... But you don't want to hear my excuses, you just want the spotlight!

Here is Randal's interview, in its entirety.

John

Q - Please tell us all a little about yourself. Single, married, attached?

A - Singly married and attached to 2 kids, Maddie 3.5 and Owen 1.5.

Q - Do you have any other hobbies?

A - With discus who has time? LOL

Q - What do you do for a living in the real world?

A - I've been a police officer for 14 years

Q - How did you get into discus?

A - Kind of a funny story there. My wife got me started and I keep telling her it is all her fault. An old tank in my father-in-laws garage spurred the whole thing. I got some bad advice from an LFS employee and wound up killing a bunch of tetras, guppies, etc. My wifes uncle who had been keeping fish for a long time gave me a ton of crap about the deaths. So I decided to try the one fish he'd never had the nerve to try, Discus. So here I am 2 years later.

Q - Where was the first discus you saw? How long had you been into fish first?

A - I saw my first in the LFS, a Wattley Blue turq for $150.00. I wasn't into fish at the time, I had kept a 10 gallon community tank as a kid. But I thought that fish was pretty impressive.

Q - What major obstacles did you have to overcome to keep discus? Any special problems which arose?