PDA

View Full Version : Some questions for a newbi w/ Discus

cazamech
12-28-2003, 02:35 AM
Hello! I'm not new to fish keeping - but I am new to discus and very interested into learning more before jumping in.

From what I've researched they require soft water - like Ph's between 6 and 7 and like bloodworms, beefhearts and such.

My questions - I use a water softener in my home which I've had salt tested and it's almost non-existant (so that's not a problem) but that means I've got a degree of zero to one for hardness. Is this to soft? I've read that degree of 3 in hardness is preferable.

My PH is a steady 7 - I'm reading conflicting reports that Discus don't do well in PH's over 6.5 - but then I've read they are fine but may not reproduce. I'm not interested in breeding - in fact I don't want a breeding pair. What's your thought on the PH - will 7 be okay?

What about plants - I'm familiar w/ live plants but my 125 gallon is planted and I'm really looking at plastic/silk for this tank - would that be okay?

And lastly - what about size of the tank? I've got a 55 that's going to be empty here soon - (it's cycled and everything) - how many discus can safely go in there when they are adults?

Thank you for your help

MonkeeFish
12-28-2003, 04:58 AM
ill tell u what i've learned here

how many discus can safely go in there when they are adults?
you can have 5 because it's 1 adult pre 10 gallon

They'll do fine in tap water but gotta use sum kind of dechlornator
so you shouldn't really mess around with your water

A barebottom tank is the best choice for newbi
1.easier to clean
2.feed them more often

daily water changes for them is best if they're babies
wit adult u can get away wit 1 or 2 water changes a week

"did i get this rite????"
"hope im not teaching him the wrong thing"
"if i got it wrong dont flame me plz"

Ardan
12-28-2003, 08:03 AM
Hi and welcome!