PDA

View Full Version : Wet-dry filter for 300 Gallons

Kevin11d
02-17-2004, 02:24 PM
This is my first time making a filter, i need all the advice i can have from all the professional here!!

Height: 18"
Width: 24"
Length: 36"

Base on the pic , do you see any problem?
I'm not sure what kind of water pump i need for this system. I need to pump to water up to 9'. Will 960GPH be good enough for 300 gallons?

If the water pump doesn't pump fast enough, will the bio balls fill with water?

Thanks
Kevin

FischAutoTechGarten
02-17-2004, 04:35 PM
Are tank dimensions 96" Long, 24" Wide, 30" High?

tom.s
02-17-2004, 06:07 PM
;D

02-17-2004, 06:47 PM
I am not sure, but is 2" enough water hight for the pump ?

Otherwise looks fine to me.

Ronald

Kevin11d
02-17-2004, 08:28 PM
It's 36" long, 24" wide and 18" high!!!

FischAutoTechGarten
02-17-2004, 10:31 PM
meant the aquarium, not the wet/dry.

jaydoc
02-17-2004, 11:32 PM
you are off to a great start! I would like to make a couple of suggestions if I may.

1. Pumps are rated in gallons per hour at 0 head height. They usually have a graph on or in the box that will tell you flow rate at a given head height. You need 3-4 times the tank volume to circulate per hour at 9 foot of head height if I read your post correctly.
2. I agree that 2" is not adequate for thepump sump, I suggest moving your "racks" up to 4". You then can make one more "dam" after the bio-balss that is 4" tall so that the water trickling over it insures about a 4" sump depth for the pump.
3. I think you have enough bio balls if I have done my calculation correctly. the manufacturer recommends one gallon of bioballs for 30-40 gallons of tank volume. multiply the height x width x length of just the bioball chamber and divide by 231 to get gallons of bio balls.