PDA

View Full Version : feeding??i'm new at this

CN
03-05-2004, 11:07 PM
i have 2 discus at 1 and 1/2 inches. what kind of food should i feed them. they are so small.

cn

ValorG
03-05-2004, 11:28 PM
blackworms

M0oN
03-06-2004, 01:05 AM
I wouldn't recommend live foods, especially if you're new to discus.

Visit the Foods and Nutrition forum on this page and look up different beef heart recipes. At that size they should be able to peck at peices of beef heart.

You should be feeding them around 5-6 times a day.

If you can't afford the beef heart route then a combination of ocean nutrition formula 1 and ocean nutrition formula 2 flake foods is an excellent alternative.

susankay1
03-06-2004, 01:59 AM
For discus that small I like Golden Pearls and Omega One flakes. Beefheart is good, long as you vacuum the tank after they eat. Good luck with your babies!!!

CN
03-06-2004, 02:42 AM
wat about live bloodworm? or brine shrimp?

M0oN
03-06-2004, 04:42 AM
wat about live bloodworm? or brine shrimp?

The problems with live foods is they leave your fish wide open to disease. You'll need a good supplier of california black worms (blood worms are thought to cause intestinal blockage) that are clean to start with and you'll have to rinse them once daily, twice would be better.

On top of this once your discus have tasted live food odds are they won't be too happy when you're plopping pellets and beef heart into the tank.

This is why I recommended that you start with dry or dead foods, since you're relatively new to discus and they're prone to internal parasites, especially youngsters.

Frozen brine shrimp will make your fish jump for joy but they're basically just a bunch of tasty water, no nutritional value for your fish.

If you're going to feed live foods I would recommend hikari frozen foods to start with, they have added nutrients. But I would still recommend you go with flake and the beef heart mix listed on the foods and nutrition page.