PDA

View Full Version : New mamapish of 3

mamapish
03-10-2004, 05:42 AM
hi
newbie here......to discus anyway!

.....my friend is moving, and she had let her tanks biological system crash somehow......., I have "MTS" and with it comes several pairs of angelfish and I am breeding them, have about 100 fry ready to go in a week (breeding only as a hobby ....not for profit.....give fish to LFS in exchange for merchandise)

anyway that is beside the point....my friend gave me 3 discus......and I am in love!!!

I got them home tonight, put them in a 20 gal for now...one is small...other 2 are medium sized I think......her water was awful
I tested it and the ammonia was at the highest level.....she said she got tired of changing the water....and they had been in it about 1 1/2 weeks........they are now in good water, but my pH is higher than hers....she put chemicals in hers to bring it down......hers was 6.5.........I brought mine down to 7.0 before bringing them home.

They were swimming around checking everything out, and I haven't tried to feed them yet, I just turned the light off after slowing introducing them......

my question is......how good of a chance do you think they have after induring the ammonia for so long?
could this hurt their breeding ability in the future?
Also.....should I use chemicals to get the pH down in the future......or will they adjust to my 7.8-8.0 water?

(I will be moving them to my new 54 gal once it has cycled.......I know 20 is to small to raise them.....just the only room I had for them!)

Thanks in advance!

DiscusinDaytona
03-10-2004, 07:02 AM
Hi Mama,

Congrats on the new arrivals! Looks like you saved their little lives :). I'm not an expert on gill damage, but have been in a similar situation and the little guy is still ok 3 yrs later. Mine wasn't eating when I got it and when it started eating, improved greatly.