PDA

View Full Version : Water changes

Himbo
03-13-2004, 11:23 AM
If someone could please help, below are a couple of questions which I couldn't find going through the posts.

I have a planted tank of some 180 litres with six medium sized discus which I feed 3-4 times a day with various foods to try to make them grow. My filter and heater is a Eheim Professional circulating 700l/h designed for a tank of my size.

1/ with the water changes, I currently only have time to take the lid off and suck the debris out once a week for a 40-50% water change. It takes me about 40 minutes. My understanding is that this should be more often, but I just don't have the time (I'm studying for my basic physician exams, this is the post med school, extra hard stuff).

Would it still be beneficial for the fish if I just suck the water out, without siphoning the stuff at the bottom of the tank, and puting more water back in? This would take 10 minutes and I could do this every day, and still do a more extended clean once a week.

2/ As it is a planted tank with driftwood, do I need to clean under the wood? All this seems to do is stir up a heap of stuff and make my wood flake. I never used to move the wood, and my other fish (not discus) still thrived, but I've become paranoid about cleanliness since getting the discus.

I understand that going BB is probably the best way, but for me it would take a lot of joy out of keeping an aquarium.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Carol_Roberts
03-13-2004, 11:39 AM
I would say the most important thing right now is to study and pass your exams.

Leaving uneaten food and feces in the tank all week and under the driftwood until it disolves is obviously not the best course of action. Eventually poor water quality will impact the health of your discus.