PDA

View Full Version : another new to discus

rikbar
04-06-2004, 09:28 AM
Hi, my name is Rik and I am a discusaholic.
I have a 75g slightly planted tank, there are 3 blue heckle, 2 marlbro reds, and 3 discus I am not sure of. There is also a blue phantom plec, banjo cat and guppies. I have had the discus now for about 3 months, the problem is I am not sure if they are feeding properly. It doesn't seem like the feed with the gusto that they should. I feed a mixture of tetre select, wardley cichlid flakes, frozen brine shrimp, frozen blood worms. My water test as follows.
pH-7.2
Alkalinity-180
Hardness-300
NitrIte-0
NitrAte-20
I do a water change every 3rd day or so. Should I be doing it everyday? Like I said I am new to discus and just am not sure how they should act. Sorry for the long post. Thanks

ronrca
04-06-2004, 10:17 AM
Hi Rik! A big welcome to simplydiscus!

I am a discusaholic ;) :thumbsup: You have come to the right place! We all suffer from discusaholic's and we understand you entirely! ;D

You have made an excellant start already using using a 75G tank! Very good size for discus as discus love company. Your wc schedule is pretty good also being every 3rd however how much of a wc do you do? Another question is how big are your discus? Your nitrates are a little on the high side especially for young discus so increasing the frequency of wc or volume may help bring the level down. In a planted tank, you want to stay around the 5ppm to a max of 10ppm. Id also recommend using discus at least 4"+ in a planted tank. Are you using any C02 injection?

And most important question, do you have any pics? ;)

rikbar
04-06-2004, 10:48 AM