PDA

View Full Version : help me plant please!!

weeble
04-25-2004, 02:02 PM
ok folks i love my tank and the wood ive found to go in it....im new to planting tho and could never keep much alive years ago when i tried however i would like ppl suggestions since ive gone through alot of the pics here and am greatly impressed. here are a few shots of the tank. im looking at doing discus with perhaps some corys and cardinals.

weeble
04-25-2004, 02:03 PM
another

weeble
04-25-2004, 02:03 PM
1 more

Wahter
04-25-2004, 06:49 PM
Are those Oscars in that tank? Are you planning to keep them in there?
:o :o :o :o

weeble
04-25-2004, 09:36 PM
no the oscars are now moved to the 77gal with my 9" O the only fish left in the 66 are 2 blood parrots and a green severum and a female beta...the first 3 are being given to a friend and the female will move to the 20 gal

Craig

ronrca
04-26-2004, 09:51 AM
Nice tank and I do like the wood. ;)

Before attempting the planting, we need to get some other issues dealt with. These will help determine the types of plants. Are you going to be adding C02? What type and how much lighting do you have? What about the substrate? Is there perhaps a biotope that you would like to create or concentrate on?

;)

jules
04-26-2004, 11:07 AM
Now Wahter - Oscars and Discus make good companions ;) :-X (until the Oscars get big and hungry)

Have you considered a prefilter on your Aquaclear?

weeble
04-26-2004, 11:33 AM
yes jules i have a prefilter for the aqua clear just had no reason to use it with the oscars. as far a biotypes and stuff i never really thought about it. want something that will go well with discus...any suggestions even just plant lists would work i can come up with something if i have to...would like some low lying plants up front and am thinking a few amazons in the back...i plan on adding CO2 but dont have the equipement just yet and as far as light i have 3 options 1 40w, 2 40w or 1-4 VHO 110w(total 440w)

jules
04-26-2004, 11:47 AM