PDA

View Full Version : Help a discus newbe out!

Luc
04-25-2004, 08:30 PM
Hey, i'm new to discus, and to the site, and was looking for some help before anything goes seriously wrong!

I recently bought a couple of runt discus from a commercial breeder, trying to start out without anuthing too precious (i should add that i've been keeping cichlids for the past couple of years, and studying and planning for discus for at least four to six months). Within the next few days, they were eating vorasciously in a 30g with some other tetras and such as tankmates, with an eheim with 130gph output, planted tank, and twice a week water changes. After about a week, they stopped eating so well, and hid more of the time (i also added at this time two dwarf gouramis as tankmates) One died soon after. i assumed it was poor stock, as i found no diseases, and water perameters were at 0- for nitrites, ammmonia, and phosphates. I was given two other healthy runts to keep him company for a while, but he died before they reached the tank.
One of these new runts followed the same pattern, and died yesterday, after i mmoved them to an 80 gallon tank i was readying. The other is fine, but is now eating as the others were initially, but i have yet to witness one of his bowel movements...could it be a really bad bout of Hex? Is the answer in the end of a bottle of metronidazole?
Please, save my fish! this is truly terrible!

Carol_Roberts
04-25-2004, 09:31 PM
The answer is to quarantine all new fish for 6 weeks in a barebottom tank.

You had two inexpensive runt discus eating voraciously for about a week. You added two gouramis and one discus died within a few days? Then the second discus died before you could add two more runts. Now a third runt has died.

That's not hex. They slowly starve to death with hex over a period of months. Sounds like the gourami brought a disease that the discus could not tolerate.

Howie_W
04-26-2004, 08:15 PM
Hi Luc,

Sorry to hear about your fish.