PDA

View Full Version : storing water

SmellsFishy0
04-26-2004, 05:50 PM
hey all.... newbie here ::)...not new to the hobby just to discus keeping, was wondering what the point of storing water is unless its just used when using an R/O unit or a DI thanks in advance for reply's-----Andy M.

toddmc
04-26-2004, 06:04 PM
Hi Andy I do it to get the temp the same as in the tank and to let the ph to adjust Todd

ronrca
04-26-2004, 06:27 PM
Same as Todd.

Initially, water directly from tap has a ph of 7.0 but after I aerate it for a couple of hours to dissapate C02, the ph rises to 8.2! :o Pretty big difference however do note that not everyones water is the best. Also the temp factor especially when changing around 50%+ daily! ;)

SmellsFishy0
04-26-2004, 06:40 PM
my PH out of tap is already at 8.0 so storing water would send it to high right? :-\

aggie_67
04-26-2004, 06:50 PM
It may or maybe not. Depends on your water, amount of disolved CO2, etc. Can test by taking tap water, measuring ph, put an air stone in for 4 hrs then measure PH again. If there is a big difference then you need to age water in drum.

Aging isn't really changing your water, it just let's it get to it's true values before going in the tank, less trama for the fish.

Howie_W
04-26-2004, 08:03 PM
Hi Andy,

Usefullness of storing water all depends upon what your water source is. Many city water systems are "purrified" by adding chemicals such as chloromines. Such additives can be removed by storing/aging your water in an open container. If you have well water, this would usually not be an issue.

As others suggested, it can also simply help to bring the water up to room temp. before adding to your tank.

Howie

Carol_Roberts
04-27-2004, 01:24 AM
Heating and agitating the water in a storage container makes the water the same as that already in the fish tank. Then you can do large daily water changes while avoiding temperature and pH fluctuations. Discus do not like quick pH drops.

nirfun