PDA

View Full Version : Big Screw up!!!

RedestWing
05-02-2004, 05:31 PM
Hello,

I am a newbie and in need of some advice. I purchased my first Discus about 2-3 months ago. I did not do enough research before I jumped into this and that is my first mistake. I have a 75 gallon tank that is somewhat planted, but only with amazon swords. They are in with 2 German blue rams, 3 Corydoras, 3 black neons and a Bushey nose pleco.
Well, I read that it is not ideal to have young discus in a planted tank, So I decided to put them in a 40 gallon bare tank til they grow out. When I put them in the tank, they did not like it at ALL. They turned almost black and were on their sides and were gasping. So I took them out of the tank and put them back into my 75. What do I need to do? Should I just leave them there in the 75 or do I try again to put them into a bare bottom tank?
The Ph in the 75 seems to rise to near 8.0 no matter what I do, which is another reason I moved them. No matter what I do or how good I do water changes or gravel cleanings I cant seem to maintain a good Ph. I am using aquaclear 300 and a 75 gallon hydro-sponge. Any advice would be great and much apreciated!

Thanx,
Steve

Thanx,
Steve

kalawai
05-02-2004, 06:09 PM
Hi Steve,
Welcome to the forums.........
Hummmmmmmmmm looks like a major problem-- was the 40 gal tank just set up?
I would have quarantined the little guys in an already aged tank before getting them--then put them into the 75 gal planted tank when they are young adults or older.
I have a 90 gal fully planted tank with other safe amazonia critters--my Discus are young adults and are doing great and growing.
As for now--in the condition they are in??
I hope someone else can help you quick--because these fish are hurting big time.
Best of luck

RedestWing
05-02-2004, 06:16 PM