PDA

View Full Version : Help! My discus keep geting sick and dieing

Falstaf
05-13-2004, 12:12 PM
Greeting everybody,

I'm sorry that my first post here has to be like bad news, but I'm really desperate already.

Here is a little history, I've had tanks almost all my life, I'm no expert but I know my way around fish tanks and I design planted tanks. So finally after years and years of wanting to keep Discus (which I just adore) I decided to go for it. Sorry to say that this has been a downfall to chaos!

I bought a 40G tank for them, I cycled the tank as it should be done, in fact I gave it a few weeks more just to be sure. so I went and bought my first pair, I had read a lot about discus from selecting illnesses, breading, keeping etc. Well as soon as they got here, they got all black and cramped fins, and developed ick. so I started treating for it, it didn't worked, and they developed cloudy eye, so I went back to the guy who sold them to me and said I needed to do a harder treatment, so I got from him Clout, and treated the tank, one made it and the other died.

Ok so after that, the tank was a mess, the biological filter was totally destroyed, so it went into cycle again, which my remaining one didn't liked at all, but he's a fighting buddy and made it through the cycle.

So I got him 2 more tank mates, this ones where smaller, like 1.5" and I got them this size because I thought it was going to be easier for them to adapt to the conditions of the tank. Same thing happened all over again, this time they just went straight to cloudy eye, then appetite loss then it was a really awful process to watch as they starved to death, as much as i did, and tried and asked and did I couldn't do anything to save them.

At this point I felt so bad an so guilty that in the mean time I was cycling a 20G tank. so I tore down the 40G and started with it all over again, meanwhile I moved the original and remaining Discus, to this tank, and he was happy.