PDA

View Full Version : my discus are breathing heavily any suggestions?

phillipdoan
06-11-2004, 04:19 AM
hello guys, (sorry for long post)
i have a planted 4x2x2 tank and i am keeping the current fish in the tank: 2x Ghost Snakeskin, 2x Blue Dolphins, 2x Red Rose, 2x Checkerboards, 2x Red spotted green tefe's, and 2x Marlboro Reds. I have been keeping the fish in the tank for a few months now and most are really healthy and happy (eating tetrabits, bloodworms everything) besides the one or two that hate tetra bits but still healthy. My question is that i have not yet known anyone who keeps discus in a 4x2x2 like me and i was wondering if anyone in this community keeps their discus in a tank like this. Becuase I have low aeration from what i can see from my discus as they seem to be breathing quite heavily. Temperature is at 29 degrees celcius and pH is at 6.5-6.8 and i have a ehiem cannister filter.
I am not planning to breed these discus, just to look at the amazing colours of them as display fish. I do water changes every week.
Back to the aeration. Well in my planted tank i do not really want to keep the air hose on because my plants are supposed to produce oxygen if there is lack of o2 in the tank, what i don't understand is why my plants aren't producing enough o2. My plants are mainly anubias and amazon swords, from my research they are able to handle these temperatures. I was told that the lack of o2 was due to the tank being very deep and the temperature is quite high which does not allow oxygen to produced readily. I leave the air hose on everyday coz i don't want to lose my precious discus but even with the air hose on they still seem to be breathing heavily but less than w/o the air pump. I am buying a co2 system soon (for my plants) and because there is already lack of oxygen i am not sure wat to do.
can anyone please help me with my situation. All you help is greatly appreciated.
thankyou

brewmaster15
06-11-2004, 07:42 AM
Hi Phillip,