PDA

View Full Version : Should I start with a planted tank or bare bottom tank?

fish_maniac
07-12-2004, 05:01 PM
Hi,
I am a beginner to the Discus. I current have a planted tank and I would like to used it for the Discus. Should I leave the plant in or take them all out?
I checked around but didn't find an answer to this question. I think the plant is nice but I afraid it will keep the maintenance harder and the fish may hide all the time. I am thinking to put the plant into a clay pot with bare bottom to help on maintenance, Will this work? Any suggestion/advise is welcome.
Kam

Carol_Roberts
07-12-2004, 05:08 PM
Hi Kam and welcome to SimplyDiscus :wave:
Bare bottom is the best way to learn to care for discus. Juveniles do best in bare bottom tanks for any skill levels.

Read through the beginner index it will answer many of your questions and feel free to ask any others you may think of.

fish_maniac
07-12-2004, 05:55 PM
Hi Carol,
Thank you for the fast reply. I found the section and the answer. You guys are greats! I will read some more and get ready for the Discus.

Kam

krandrus
07-13-2004, 03:43 AM
I have not kept discus for very long, but I have a different opinion from most of the esteemed keepers on this site, you have to do what you think is best for you and the fish.

Plants are very important to some people. I only have one tank and I believe that is essential that it be planted. You know the advantages such as increased utilization of nitrates, more diverse grazing, and hiding places for the fish; along with beauty for you.

My discus have grown their half an inch in the last month even though I am raising them in a planted tank. They may not get to 7-8 inches because they were not raised in a corral environment, but not everyone needs to raise champions.