PDA

View Full Version : peat moss question for first timer

basil
08-30-2004, 05:29 PM
I am brand new to discus keeping and need a little advice.
Right now I have 10 2.5"- 3" discus in a meagerly planted 55 gallon. I have only had these guys for about a month and they are starting to look a little dark. They are not exhibiting any other signs of sickness or stress, so I don't think that they are sick. I am wondering if they are stressed due to the higher ph in the tank. right now the ph is at 7.6 . I have read that it is much better to have a stable ph than a lower fluctuating one so I did not want to mess with any chemicals to lower it and risk the chance of serious fluctuations. I read that peat moss is excellent for safely lowering the ph and the hardness. I am wondering if anyone has any advice on where to get some online and which type to get. I haven't been able to find any in the stores around here since it is so late in the planting season. If anyone could be so kind to give me some advice on this matter I would be so grateful.

RyanH
08-30-2004, 06:20 PM
Hey Basil,

Welcome to Simply. I would say that your pH and hardness are fine. Juveniles do well in hard water and a 7.6 pH is great. I would not mess with your water parameters at all. Like you said, just make sure they are stable.

Also, your fish may be showing signs of hex. This is fairly common in fish that are stressed out. You can treat your fish with 93 degree heat, two T of salt per 10 gallons of water and 500 mg of Metronidazole per 10 gallons of water. Repeat the metro every day with a 50% water change for three or four days. Keep the heat for two weeks. You should see improvement in your fish.

hth!

Carol_Roberts
08-30-2004, 06:22 PM
Your pH is fine - lower than mine.

What is your water change schedule? I bet that's the problem.

basil
08-30-2004, 06:48 PM