PDA

View Full Version : New to discus

wally
09-06-2004, 08:36 AM
I have over 50 years experience in the hobby, but have always stayed away from discus. Need some insights, and possible good sources, other than local stores. I am in the Buffalo, N.Y. area. Thanks ;D

Howie_W
09-06-2004, 09:24 AM
Hi Wally,

Welocome to Simply. There's a life time supply of insight on this forum to help you out.

Are you planning on starting out with juveniles or adults?

Howie

wally
09-06-2004, 09:33 AM
My wife and I plan on purchasing a number of discus (6-8) in the 2"-3" size. Purchasing small fish and letting them get used to our water, feeding, etc. seems to be the best approach to me. Also the price of larger fish is rather high. I have always stayed away from discus because of their reputation as being finicky about water, etc. Well we are going to take the plunge ( no pun intended).
We have a 75 gallon tank and I am thinking about using a wet dry filter which I have from a reef tank. Is this a good idea.

Howie_W
09-06-2004, 09:41 AM
No problem using a wet/dry filter. I would supplement it with a air driven Hydro Sponge to provide additional filtration and increased air flow.

Howie

Cosmo
09-06-2004, 09:59 AM
Wally,

I agree with your approach of buying juveniles and raising them. Much more satisfaction that way, at least for me. The wet/dry should be more than enough (if it's big enough for a 75 gal or larger tank), just be careful with how you return the water to the Disucs tank. They don't particularly like strong flows or lots of current in their tank... they'll adapt to if, but they prefer more peaceful water.