PDA

View Full Version : first discus tank

tapa769
10-01-2004, 04:03 AM
hi all i have been keping aquariums for the past 3 years and i am just seting up my first discus tank. the tank is 6 x 2 x 2 foot how many discus could i have in this tank? i was thinking of seting it up as a discus display tank. i was wondering if how long in advance the tank should be set up to alow to cycle, at the moment it has oscars in it. should i take the oscars out and let the tank cycle with nothing in it and then put the plants and other things in followed by the discus???

thanks for your help.

tapa

henryD
10-01-2004, 08:06 AM
Tapa,

Welcome to Simply....

That is a very very nice 180gallon tank. I am jealous.

Oscars are very nice fish. I would consider them to be quite hardy and low maintance. They can pretty much handle whatever you throw at them.

First of all...setting it up for a display tank. Please elaborate...Are you going to add live plants? Or have decorations? What about gravel?
Do you have experience with a planted tank?

Either way, I would remove the oscars. (I imagine they are quite large since they have been in the 180 for 3 years). They are also aggressive and would not do well with discus. Give the tank a fresh cleaning. Restart the cycle with using the fishless method. This way you are sure that the tank does not have any nasties left over. Now there is a number of products on the market that claims to cycle tanks quickly. From all the ones I used through the years, it is more hype than substance.

Then as far as the tank is concern. It really depends on the type of person you are. Are you ready for a challenge? You can take the jump in full force approach and do a planted discus. Knowing that you will have a learning curve for taking care of plants and for taking care of discus.

If you are not that type, then I would consider doing a planted tank. Get a good feel for that and then add discus. Or do a discus then add plants.