PDA

View Full Version : Vortex vs. HOT Magnum

bikhu
11-09-2004, 09:33 PM
HI~
So here's the deal... I have 5 tanks ranging in size from 30 - 60 gals. I use AC fliters in combination with sponge filters but I want to be able to polish the water (okay I admit it I am a little bit obsessive compulsive... okay okay I'm a freak but nonetheless...). I was thinking of a Vortex Diatom Filter but have heard scary things about the complexity of using it. I have heard that HOT Magnum with the micron sleeve does as great job but I am not sure if it is applicable in the same capacity in terms of portability from one tank to the other. Does anyone have any experience they can share to ease my suffering? Thanks
peter

jeep
11-09-2004, 09:37 PM
I have no experience with the Vortex, but I really like the HOT's.

They do a great job at polishing the water and are easily transferable form tank to tank...

Ronald
11-09-2004, 09:51 PM
I have both.

The Vortex does do a better job, but at the same time it is a bit harder to handle. And when you got your first batch of powder inside the tank thats when you get real mad. lol.

The HOT does a great job also and is realy easy to handle.
In rare cases I still use the Vortex but only if needed real bad.
I Know I am lazy lol.

Ronald

Ronald
11-09-2004, 10:04 PM
Forgot to mention,

The HOT is much easyer regarding portability.

Ronald

korbi_doc
11-09-2004, 10:59 PM