PDA

View Full Version : new tank setup, what should i do.....

souk
12-06-2004, 03:28 PM
hi there,

i'm new here and would like some help. i have kept discus in the pass with out much success. i figured it was do to only having 2 of them. maybe this time with help from this forum i should be able to do better this time.

ok, here is what i have.

i'm using my old 58gal reef ready tank that is drilled on the top left. i want to ask you guys if i should use that as a drain or use it to fill up the tank when i do water changes. i was thinking of using it to fill up the tank b/c i'm placing a 20gal on the bottom of the stand and using it to age the water for the next day water change. what do you guys think...

i will be keeping 6-10 2-3"ers in that tank.

the filter that i will be using is a HOB aquaclear 300.

should be ready for fish this weekend or next week.

thanks for your time and help, souk

Craigmax
12-06-2004, 06:24 PM
As a beginner i have read you can never over-filter a tank. I have a 55 with a ac300 with prefilter and a 125 sponge filter for bio. i would get an airstone for your storage water to circulate and rid of chlorine. Hope that helps.

RyanH
12-06-2004, 06:48 PM
I agree with Craigmax in that it is impossible to over-filter a tank. I keep three hydro V sponge filters and an AC 500 on a 55 that I am growing out some wilds in. I use an AC 500 and four Hydro V's on a 75 that I'm growing out a group of domestic juvies in. It sounds like alot of filtration but it's nice if your setting up a new tank you have extra sponges to go in it. This means an instantly cycled tank.

hth!
-Ryan

Carol_Roberts
12-06-2004, 07:23 PM
I would suggest more filtration too. You can use one Aqua Clear 500 or two AC 300 or your AC 300 plus a couple of air driven sponge filters. I would do at least 20 gallon water changes everyday with juveniles.

darcy
12-06-2004, 11:35 PM
Ahhhh I've missed all the excellent advice!!!
Darcy

souk
12-07-2004, 11:01 AM