PDA

View Full Version : Trying to decide

Sunny884
12-18-2004, 03:44 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm new to discus. I'm wondering if they are the right fish for me, before I buy any and try to care for them. I found this board and thought it was a great place to start :)

We have a 90 gallon aquarium that is drilled. We were going to try saltwater fish, but decided not to. Many people were telling us not to do saltwaters. We ultimately decided we don't really want to have to do anything with our water (mixing with salt etc). We have a 55 gallon and 30 gallon that we keep show fancy goldfish in. Our water straight out of the tap is great for them. We have well water, so no chlorine or chloramines. Our water out of the tap is as follows, ammonia-0, nitrites-0, nitrates-0, ph-7.6 and I'd say it's not soft water. I will have to buy a test kit to find out the hardness. We do water changes to keep our nitrates in our tanks under 20ppm.

So what I'm wondering is, is our ph (7.6) too high for discus? Can they adapt to harder water? Does anyone use a drilled tank with Discus? What filtration is best? How low do you keep your nitrates? How often do you do water changes? Also anything else you can think to add.

I appreciate any advice!

Thank you :)

RyanH
12-18-2004, 04:17 PM
Hey Sunny,

Welcome to Simply! :)

Your water sounds just fine for Discus. The low pH/ soft water thing with Discus is a myth and should be disregarded. Many on the boards here have had great success with pH's exceeding 8 without any problems. It just needs to be stable. Swings in your pH out of the tap can cause problems.

20 ppm is a bit high for Discus in the nitrate department. I really try to keep mine as close to 0 as possible. Discus do require very clean water and a nitrate level that is <3 is really ideal. As you have realized, water changes are the easiest solution in ridding your water of nitrates.