PDA

View Full Version : Ammonia problems in new tank

ecrew
02-14-2005, 04:01 PM
Hi everyone! (sorry this is so long)

I'm new to the Discus world! The following are my current tank specs.

40 gal
1 Penguin Bio Wheel 175 (filter and bio wheel)
1 Top Fin 30 (Carbon)
1 Whisper 40 (Carbon)
2 heaters set at 86
4 Discus (3 are Stendker Discus)
1 pleco
2 corys
1 in substrate with plastic plants

We had this tank setup prior to adding our recent 2 Discus (had only 2 to begin with). We were new to Discus keeping and failed to clean the substrate and do regular water changes. We ended up with a hydrogen sulfide problem! The entire house smelled like rotten eggs. It was awful.
Luckily we had a 30 gal tank setup so we transferred our 2 Discus to it
until we could clear up the problem. It was an interesting learning experience.

Anyway, we changed the filter in the penguin and added new filter bags and new carbon to the Top Fin and Whisper filters. We drained the water down to less than 10% and vacuumed all of the substrate really good. We filled the tank back up. We added Biospira, Prime and a PH reducer (I think).
We had 3 corys and our pleco in the tank while we did all this. Our Nitrites were always 0 and our Nitrates ranged from 5 to 10. Our Ammonia however was a problem. We were doing W/C from our tap and adding prime thinking the Ammonia would go down, but it continued to stay at 8. My husband started adding additional Prime until the Ammonia came down. We thought all was well.

We purchased 2 more Discus and added to the tank. The Ammonia went up a little (.25) which was expected. Our PH by the way is around 6.4. Anyway,
we did a 25% w/c last Tuesday with water from the tap (adding Prime).
This past Sunday, we setup a tank to store water. We added a heater, prime and the PH reducer and let it sit over night. I did a 25% w/c this morning and I just checked the Ammonia. It's at 2.

Do we have too many fish in our tank?