PDA

View Full Version : New discus sudden problem

F8VRT-HBY
02-17-2005, 08:29 PM
Hello everyone!!
Im new to discus and 5 days ago i introduced 5 young discus (3" or so) to my fully cycled discus show tank. I have done a lot of research and the tank is in good shape right now. I bought the discus from a breeder who lives somewhat close to me and he had the same ph, hardness, etc as i did so this was a comferting (I can't spell, damn dislexia) to me.

On the first few days two of the five would always eat, and the other two would eat little bits but very skidishly. and one of them is very scared (he is the smallest)

Today they have been extremely skidish. everytime i go near the tank the go and hide and wont come out. in the past i was useing a turkey baster to feed them(so i could control where the food went). today i havent even had the chance to do that they keep hiding and won't come out for 45 min and then they jsut hide rite away when i get close.

One last thing, i tested the water and everyting is normal (pH 7.2 same as breeder, ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and nitrate 5 ppm) i am going to do a water change tonight.

Any ideas for tommarow that should help them eat or any tips, like leaving a little food in there for them ( my cory cats 4 and sword tails 2) might get it first, and its messy.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, Thank you!Sorrry for the long post

bio new
02-17-2005, 10:21 PM
Hi,

How big is your tank for that 5 discus? They need time to acclimitise with the new environment. Once they have acclimitised, they should start eating. At the moment, do your daily water change. If you can do at least 50%, would be very ideal. You must not panic. Do not add any medicine to the water. Add some table salt to the water will certainly help.

Since you're nearby to your supplier. I suggest, if you can, speak to him and ask his daily routine to his discus. The food he gives and others. If possible get some water from his tank and add it to yours.