PDA

View Full Version : Pump recommendations?

chirohorn
03-11-2005, 01:09 AM
I've got a wet dry filter that needs to go on a 135 gallon planted discus tank. The overflow box has a 800 GPH flow rate. How much GPH do I need out of an external pump & which would you recommend?

Carol_Roberts
03-11-2005, 06:30 PM
I don't know . . . try Randall or cosmo

dishpanhands
03-12-2005, 12:06 PM
i was told once that you need to get your water across the filter four times an hour so you need atleast 550 gph....i would always recommend that you get a good magnetic drive they make them to go in the sump or set out side the sump..i run one both ways

Cosmo
03-12-2005, 12:59 PM
I'm by no means an expert on this since I'm just setting one up for my breeder tanks. I did however, post a similar question a few weeks ago and got some great replys and helpful information. Sergey posted a link to a website that actually gives you a spreadsheet that does the calculations for you, and Ryan (DKarc) posted a flow curve.. interesting thing was both led to the same conclusion :)

You can find both of these at http://forum.simplydiscus.com//showthread.php?t=42091

My application is somewhat different, but this may help. One concern you don't want to lost sight of is the turbulance the return water may cause since Discus prefer more peaceful environs.. and 550 gal/hr would creat quite a bit of turbulance. Spraybars are good at dispersing the jet stream into more tolerable flows so how you output it makes a difference as well ..

Hope this helps somewhat

Jim

kaceyo
03-12-2005, 01:00 PM
Hi Chirohorn,