PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a newbie and a couple easy questions

Wsinbad1
03-16-2005, 03:18 AM
First off I would just like to say hello. I am new to both Discus and this forum, but not to fish in general. I currently have a 10 gallon guppy breeder, a 75 gallon planted tropical community tank, a 180 gallon reef, and a 25 gallon hex that is temporarily housing my 4 new discus in my fish room/office. In about 8 weeks I hope to have my 130 gallon tank up as a new permenant home for my discus.

I have been reading everything I can get my hands on regarding Discus for about the last 4 months. This was when I decided I was finally going to get the King of fish that I have been wanting for so many years. As I was browsing the internet tonight I came across this site. It is exactly what I was looking for. I look forward to becoming part of this community and learning more about caring for my new friends. (And possibly making some human friends too. ;) )

Anyway for the easy questions. First off I sort of came into 4 discus that needed a home. I don't have thier permanent home ready yet, but I relocated some other fish so I could use my 25 gallon hex tank. Of the 4 fish one is about 2", two are about 3", and one is about 4". They have been in their new home for 3 days now. Is this home large enough for the 4 of them for the next 6-8 weeks while the 130 gallon tank is set up?

I also have a question about their coloration. All but the smallest fish, which is supposed to be a solid color rather than striated like the rest, show black vertical bars. Are these bars due to stress and should I expect them to fade as the fish become used to their new home or is this the permenant coloration of the fish?