PDA

View Full Version : New here and would LOVE some help

Nettie
03-17-2005, 09:28 AM
Good Morning to one and all.
Well, I am new to this site and to discus. I have been raising fish for over 20 years but have never had the pleasure of having discus. Right now I have a 100 gallon community tank and a 900 gallon koi tank in my livingroom (the koi tank has six fish in it starting at 2 feet and up to a whopping 3 and a half feet), the koi are being house in this till the weather warms up and I can put them back in their 5000 gallon pond.
So, as you can see, I am not completely uneducated when it comes to the care of fish, but because of the expensiveness of discus, I have always shied away from purchasing some in fear that I would not be able to properly care for them or, at the worst, kill the poor creatures.. But, I have been bitten by the discus bug, I think they are beautiful and after checking out some of the web sites that show different colourations, I was totally infatuated and all I can say is .....WOW b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l!!!!!!!!!
Now for the meat and potatoes of this post :)
I have a tank that at the moment that is empty, no water.. It is approxamately 35 gallons(thought it was 50 but measured and boy was I off :D ) And I have a few queastion that I would like to ask you wonderful people (actually I have tons, but will stick with just a few for the moment, LOL)
Would I be able to put just two discus in this tank? It would also have a very large biofiltration system, along with a trickle tower to remove nitrites and ammonia.
Since I have NO clue how large these fish get or what the requirements are to keep them healthy and happy, I dont want to go and pay over 200.00$ for the pair that I am looking at and then turn around and kill them!!!!
I was reading some posts in this forum and people keep mentioning that they remove the algae from the sides of the tank. Why? Is it harmful to the fish? Or just so you can see them? Can you not put in a pleco?