PDA

View Full Version : Hoping someone kind will check my setup and answer a couple questions.

TheDuckyOne
05-29-2005, 09:14 PM
Ok, heres what I have planned. It will be a planted discus show tank. I know that gravel and plants make it more difficult to change the water, but Ive been working w/freshwater plant tanks for 7 years now...those I feel comfortable with, the discus is what makes me nervous.

65 gallon tank (I cant give you the exact dimensions, but I know for sure it is 36 long, 18 wide...Im not sure how tall it is, but its pretty tall as far as a fish tank is concerned)

Aqua Clear 70 Filter (Old 300)
Rainbow Fluidized Bed Filter FB300 (running w/a 200 gph rio powerhead)
Magnum 350 Canister Filter Pro System

Ill be using some sort of clay at the bottom (i havent chosen the type or brand yet, I want to do more research on the kind of plants that I would be keeping in this very warm tank before I do)

As far as other fish...I am thinking a school of cardinals,rummynoses or columbian red and blue tetras (one or two of those choices, but not all 3) and a small shoal of cory cats.

My main question is about the discus itself, and I think its an odd one, but here goes. My understanding is that they are schooling fish, and should be bought in groups and introduced into the tank together, which is no problem, I have a BB 29 QT tank just waiting for them. My question is about the color varients. Are they all the same species, but different colored, like betta fish (all the same thing, but come in a wide variety of color variants) or is each color variant its own species? My concern is about them schooling together. I would like to mix and match, and get a couple each of a few different kinds (I have no intention to breed them, Ive never had an intrest in breeding any fish really) but I do want them to school, so that they can function normally, and be comfortable in the tank. Anyone with any advice on this I would be very grateful.