PDA

View Full Version : Heckel discussion and observations

RyanH
06-29-2005, 11:54 AM
Hey all,

I've only been keeping Heckels now for a few months and I'm still learning about how to properly care for them.

I've noticed a couple of things since I've been fortunate enough to have these wonderful fish grace my tanks.

1. It does seem that they do better in softer water. I'm not filtering with peat, but I am using an RO mix which has dropped their pH to around 6.6. Since I started doing this, they seem to be more outgoing and are eating better.

2. I'd been having problems with the larger ones picking on the smaller ones. I think it was a territorial thing as the three smaller ones were introduced later. A couple of weeks ago I turned the tank to sit long-ways on the rack so I could fit on another 29 for a breeding pair. Since I moved the tank I've noticed that the hostility in the tank has been greatly reduced and all are getting along much better. The smaller fish aren't hiding at all anymore and are getting more food. The change of scenery seemed to do them quite a bit of good.

3. These fish are absolutely mesmerizing. I really love keeping them. Yeah, I guess that's not a real observation. :p

I'd be very interested in hearing about other peoples' experience and knowledge on caring for Heckels. Any tips or insight would be greatly appreciated.

What water parameters are you keeping them in?

What are you feeding them?

What is your water change regiment?

What has and hasn't worked for you in terms of husbandry?

Are you using peat or RO or are you having success in your tap water?

Any breeding activity? How did you do it? (Alberto? :D )

What are you using for filtration?

Pictures are of course welcome and encouraged. :D

thanks!

-Ryan

Tad
06-29-2005, 05:44 PM
Hey all,

What are you feeding them?

Any breeding activity? How did you do it? (Alberto? :D )

Pictures are of course welcome and encouraged. :D

thanks!

-Ryan

Ryan,
Great topic :)