PDA

View Full Version : Discus Beginner

Jdinh04
07-18-2005, 01:02 AM
I had finally finished my 20g planted aquarium, and now I will want to start another tank. My uncle however has a tank that I am trying to get, I am unsure the size of this tank but he has an oscar in it so i'm sure it's a pretty big tank, lets say big enough for discus.

With spending most of my money on the 20g planted tank, money is limited for waht I want. I just started getting attached to discus a few weeks ago. My lps doesn't carry discus often, but after checking out Cary Strong's hatchery I no longer hesitate about getting high quality discus, also with the short drive I can most likely get a ride to check out his hatchery.

When I stopped by GLD's website, here are the strains of discus that I am interested in: oriental leopard, red spotted x green x leopoard, and wild heckels.

By no means I am not an expert at keeping discus nor know information about these specimens.

I will post more as I get more information on the tank that I hope to have for some discus.

Barb Newell
07-18-2005, 01:59 AM
Hi Jdinh04 :wave: , welcome to Simply Discus! You can't go wrong with Cary if you want quality fish, and good support and advice if you need it.

Barb :)

Anonapersona
07-18-2005, 07:40 AM
IMO a planted tank is a good introduction to discus, as it is more complicated than a normal community tank.

Discus are both easier and harder. More water changes, less hardware -- unless you intend to breed. Lots of food is required to make large well shaped fish, and that makes a lot of waste that has to be removed.