PDA

View Full Version : Feeding Questions

holocron
08-11-2005, 04:03 PM
Hi there,

I am new to discus and new to this forum. I recently came across a guy selling some of his jouvie discus (roughly 1/2") and I decided to dig in deep and get a few. Unfortunately I lost 3 but still have 3 that seem happy and healthy. From what I have read there is quite a bit of info to know before digging in (as I learned the hard way). The internet has been my best friend, but at times I find it hard to get a definitive answer to 'how things should be done' as everyone has their own method. I am please to have found this forum as it has answered many questions. Thanks and greetings to all!

My remaining three discus are just over an inch now and are starting to show some colour (they are red. tourq.). I have been feeding them exclusively live blood worms (which i have read good and bad things about). I want to try and start varying their diet but haven't had much luck doing so. They tend to avoid any flake i put in the tank and will have a go at pellets but generally reject them. Have I just spoiled them thus far? or should I keep trying to feed them flake/pellets?

I also have frozen blood worms, would those make for better food then live ones?

(i have a million questions, but will leave it for now :) )

Thanks.

-holo

Carol_Roberts
08-11-2005, 04:26 PM
I would definately try to add tetra bits to their diet. Feed the tetrabits in teh morning when the discus are hungriest.

holocron
08-11-2005, 04:27 PM
thanks carol.. I will give it a try!

Alight
08-12-2005, 12:05 AM
At 1 inch, your discus are a bit small for tetra bits. When you feed tetra bits, definitely soak them in tank water for 5-10 minutes before you feed, so they can bite them a part a bit. This will make them take them better.

ShinShin
08-12-2005, 12:08 PM
Many discus, esp. small discus, have a hard time with bloating when feeding Tetra Bits and bloodworms.

Moon
08-12-2005, 12:22 PM