PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about getting Discus!

Joelio
08-19-2005, 09:54 AM
Hello,

Although I am new to simply discus i am not new to the simply world, I moderate on simplycichlids, so allow me to introduce myself, I am Joel, I have been keeping cichlids for about 6 years now and i am currently keeping the african beauties, frontosa. I am moving out not too far from home so I will be closer to University, where I am staying has practically R/O water coming out of the tap. pH 6.8, GH and KH virtually undetecable. I have 25 gallon high style tank that I will be setting up, and I really want to keep some discus. I was thinking a thin layer of sand and tons of driftwood as a setup.

What do you guys think, as for tankmates, and stocking, and your favorite, discus!

Thanks,

Joel

KIWI13
08-19-2005, 10:02 AM
I never thought I'd see the day Joel posted on Simply Discus but Alas Miracles can happen.................

Welcome to the wonderful world of discus and there are lots of people on here you will get to meet and know. People that have helped me alot. People like Angie ( Spices), Don Lee, Brian (Jeep), Ryan, Barb, Carol Roberts, Dirk, Andrew Soh, Kumlin and the list goes on................................................ .................................................

This site is cool and before you know it your classified as a discus addict. So once again welcome buddy

Jas ;) :D ;)

ernest
08-19-2005, 12:48 PM
I'm jealous of your water supply. Making my own RO is what keeps me from having multiple tanks...go for it. :thumbsup:

hexed
08-19-2005, 03:20 PM
Joel,
Welcome to the discus world!