PDA

View Full Version : Help, one of my discus is hiding all the time!

Serbi
11-09-2005, 12:25 PM
I recently got 6 "beginner" discus since this is my first attempt at keeping these fish. I have a 60g tank with gravel and some plants as well as some drift wood. Five of the six discus seem to be doing good.... they eat, swim all over the tank, and they don't seem to be stressed at all. One of them, however, is permanently hiding under the wood. I have seen him out... but seldomly. He doesn't even come out when it's feeding time. This has been going on for over two weeks (basically since I received them). There is a dominant fish in the tank....but he really doesn't pick on the other ones except very, very rarely.

I must say that the one hiding did look the worst when I receved them. He had parts of his fins missing...but his scales looked ok. I DID NOT pay a lot of money for these guys.... $12 to $16 each.... so I understand that the quality may not be great, BUT I would still like to make sure that they are all happy.

Help please!!

Dillan
11-09-2005, 12:42 PM
How recently did you get these fish? Discus are shy and nervous -- it's their only defence in the wild. Some just take longer than others to settle in.

Assuming your water conditions are right... Maybe try feeding different types of food. Most Discus find frozen bloodworms or finely chopped beef heart pretty hard to resist.

They're not keen on bright light either. If your lights are bright, try dimming them a bit.

If all the other fish are OK you must be doing something right. ;) Try not to worry about the shy one. You can only do what you can do, after that it's up to him!

Dillan

RLJSlick
11-09-2005, 12:43 PM