PDA

View Full Version : HELP Needed on Small Planted Tank

venom_99
12-12-2005, 02:39 PM
It's been quite some time since I've posted on this site, but I was hoping that someone might be able to assist me. I've been keeping fish for 20 years, but only in the past few years have I tried my hand at a planted tank.

In any case, my ultimate goal is to set up a 125 gal tank in my living room, densely planted with discus as the centerpiece. I've spent a lot of time reading through this site, and think I may be able to tackle this project. But, prior to making the big investment into the tank (and fish), I thought I would give my green thumb a try with my current tank. However, I can't seem to get a handle on getting the plants to thrive, and was hoping someone could help to diagnose the problem. In particular, the root growth of the swords is abysmal (almost non-existent), and I can't understand why.

Here's a breakdown of my setup:

Tank Geometry
20 gallon high (10"x20" footprint, ~24" high)

Tap Water Quality
pH: ~7.0
kH: ~4.0 dkH
gH: ~4.0 dkH
Nitrate: 0 ppm
Water is usually passed through a PUR water filter during tank water changes, but doesn’t affect the pH, kH, or gH.

Substrate:
Seachem Flourite ~1.5” deep – just put in ~1 month ago

Filtration:
Marineland Eclipse 1 hood/filter combo with biowheel
Filter cartridge (synthetic pad & carbon) replaced every 1-2 weeks

Lighting:
2 T8 Phillips 5000K fluorescent bulbs (from big-box store, replace 2 months ago), overdriven with 4-bulb electronic ballast
11 hour on interval (recently bumped up to 12 hours on)
Lux output is not known

Heating:
50W heater submersible – temperature constant 80 F

Bio Load:
3 Blue Gouramis (~3” length)
1 Gold Gourami (~2” length)
3 small Tiger Barbs (~0.5” length)
4 Cherry Barbs (~1” length)
1 Pleco (~3” length)
1 Green Cory Cat (~1” length)
Fish are fed only once per day in moderation

Plants:
Anacharis
2 species of Swords
Mondo Grass

Plant Supplements: