PDA

View Full Version : Help building a fishroom!

discus2010
12-28-2005, 10:16 AM
I am hoping to setup a fish room (wall). I have the basic idea of the stand it'll be 3 aquariums high, with a set of 20, 55, 10 i was wondering how to do the filtration and water changes semi automatic and do the plumbing without glass drilling

BIGFOOT
12-28-2005, 10:44 AM
This subject will be interesting because i too want to know the answer to this one.

Upper Canada
12-28-2005, 04:23 PM
I have seen advertisments for acrylic overflow boxes which might be an option for draining without drilling, however I have no direct experience with them.

I have attached some pictures previously posted under my fishroom post which illustrates a filter you could build and taylor to the number of gallons to be filtered. I don't know wether you are planning more than one system here or more. I will be glad to help you with the construction details.

I cannot help you with the auto w/c question, although I know some hobbyists have developed it for their use, the lucky devils.

Bob,

Upper Canada Discus

Upper Canada
12-28-2005, 04:24 PM
2nd

Upper Canada
12-28-2005, 04:25 PM
3rd

Upper Canada
12-28-2005, 04:27 PM
last

Breadhead
12-28-2005, 05:21 PM
Great looking home made filter, one question though: Where are you having any aerobic filtration??? Looks like all your bioballs are covered with water??? I've been running sump filtration forever, and a mix of aerobic (water trickling through the bioballs) and anerobic (water covering bioballs) filtration was what I always felt was important. You don't have any issues?

Very curious....

Timbo
12-28-2005, 06:18 PM
hi breadhead, anerobic is without oxygen, not water-covered