PDA

View Full Version : To Feed or Not to Feed

OIF03VET
01-05-2006, 01:24 PM
Hello, I am pretty new to Discus and I have a question. My girlfriend bought me a 18t tank for Christmas complete with a large angel fish, three guromies, 5 neons, 2 flying foxes, a clown loach and a supposed breeding pair of Discus. After a week I removed all but the Discus, flying foxes and clown. Dec 27th I noticed that they had spawned, wow, :D how cool I thought, I saw the eggs hatch and the parents moving them on the 30th. After that the fry were gone. It was my first try so I wasnt too :o worried about loosing them. So last night (Jan 4) I decided to remove all but the Discus, (I should have done it from the get go) After about ten minutes of tearing up the tank trying to catch the damn clown I saw to my suprise that the discus had spawned again. I calmed myself down and removed the other fish. Now I am wondering how to feed the parents, ie when they are watching the eggs and when they have the fry. I dont want them to get hungry and eat the babys but I also dont want them to get so excited about food and forget the babys. What should I do?:confused:

RyanH
01-05-2006, 01:29 PM
Congratulations on your spawn. :)

Pairs that are caring for eggs or fry aren't going to eat much anyway. I probably would only feed them very sparingly or not at all. If you have pellet food that doesn't disintegrate, give that a try in small amounts. If they don't touch it, just hold off on feeding.

hth
-Ryan

White Worm
01-05-2006, 02:17 PM
Hey So Cal,,,,,pretty nice girlfriend you got there!!. Congrats on the quick spawn! It may take them a few times to get it right in their new surroundings but it sure sounds like they have the drive and you should be posting pics of new fry soon. I have been working on my pair for over a month and no eggs yet. It will happen when they are ready..

goheel
01-05-2006, 02:37 PM
I wish I have a girlfriend who gives me discus.;)

OIF03VET
01-05-2006, 03:52 PM