PDA

View Full Version : Valls

architect1
01-21-2006, 05:56 PM
I got some valls and it seams like they grow and when they get to the top of the tank I cut them with the water level. Is it ok to do that or do you let them keep growing. How do I maximize my runners I transplanted half my valls I only feed them liquid co2. One sent out a runner is it possible to get more then 1 runner. I put a root tab under it to maximize its growth any other ideas thoughts please help.

jeep8rus
01-26-2006, 12:48 AM
Trimming off the tops is fine. I don't know about getting more than one runner, but if you don't have enough macro elements (N, P, K) then the growth will be stunted even though you add organic carbon.

HTH,
-Russ

architect1
01-26-2006, 12:51 AM
Why can't they just grow in light and water it be so much more easy. i find as people say planted tanks it costs more and more its never winning cycle like now I need co2 and it costs to much for me I'm a student not a millionair.

wisesam
01-26-2006, 05:17 AM
I had my vals shooting runners after runners. I do pump CO2 with 3.5wpg lighting. At the end there were so many of them and I sick and tired of it blocking the light. so I took them out.

scans
01-26-2006, 10:48 AM
I had my vals shooting runners after runners. I do pump CO2 with 3.5wpg lighting. At the end there were so many of them and I sick and tired of it blocking the light. so I took them out.

Were you supplimenting with anything other than CO2?

architect1
01-26-2006, 10:58 AM
I dont have the gas co2 I was thking dico2 but I have a 112g tank and thats to big. I do put liquid in and some have fertalizer blocks under them. Like the grow but its a leaf ever week or every other week. right now my plants in the bi8g tank are turning yellow. But I have liquid co2 and fertalizer blocks. My 55 gallong is growing all the plants nicly like yeah runners dont come out but my swords grow leaf after leaf. All i put in is the blocks.

Dissident
01-26-2006, 01:14 PM