PDA

View Full Version : I am totally stunned!

Ardan
01-27-2006, 01:59 PM
Thank you Al!!!!
Yes, I can’t believe it, but I have some discus!:D
Where do I start? Well about 18 months ago, I lost all of my discus due to a water problem. Ever since Al has made very generous offers to help me get back into discus. :) I have waited. He contacted me again just last weekend. “Hey, are you ready for discus yet? (its in my blood, and patience I am not good at.) Well my birthday is in a couple wks and I told my wife I’d like to try to get a few discus.
So I told Al that I didn’t have a lot of money (what else is new;) , 3 great kids, 2 of them in college), but if it works out I’d like to get a few discus.
I told him my favorite types of discus, including domestics and wilds, but said I wouldn’t be too particular at this point, starter discus would be great! I would let it up to him to see what we might be able to work out or if I should just sit tight.
He said “leave it up to me, I will not tell you what I am going to send, get 2 tanks ready, I will send you some wilds and some domestics! What day this wk is good for you?”:shocked:
I said I have no tanks ready, no cycled sponges!
He said, “NO Problem, I will send cycled sponges!!” How cool is that??:cool: :cool:
I also said I have 4 bushynose plecos I got at an lfs almost 2 yrs ago, but no breeding yet, what should I do? Well, he sent a bushynose pleco to add to the group.
I know how Al takes care of his discus and have read about his quarantine and “deworming procedures” so I know they are in great health.:)

Well, I worked hard last Sunday and all wk getting things cleaned, filled, tested, rechecked, retested…… took a vacation day today. Wondered all wk what might be coming, and if I was ready.
Today, right on time they arrived at the Fedex pickup point. Pulse racing, I picked them up and now have discus!