PDA

View Full Version : Snails with Discus

chicagophish
02-17-2006, 07:30 PM
I'm somewhat new to the whole discus fish setup. As of right now, I have 2 discus and 2 angel fish. However, I'm getting some algea build up almost weekly. I was wondering if anyone has used these snails before sold at this website, http://www.azgardens.com/aquarium_snails.php

They seem like a safe option as opposed to the algea eating fish.

As of right now I'm cleaning my tank almost every 5 days or so...which seems a little too much. I would like to keep as much cycled water in the tank as possible.

scans
02-17-2006, 08:52 PM
Every 5 days.... Some of the folks here do it every day...

Jeckel
02-18-2006, 11:36 AM
I've never heard of keeping salt-water snails in freshwater tanks before. Obviously, it's probably a little hard on the snails. If they are brackish water snails, I suppose they might be used to warm water. In any event, if their natural environment is salt water, I think they would want a high pH. So if your water is acidic it might be a problem (actually, this is probably true for any animal with a shell).

About 2 months ago I bought 5 common apple snails for my discus tanks. Four died quickly, but one is still alive, so I don't know what lesson that teaches us. I also have some trumpet snails that seem to be doing okay with my discus (temp 86, pH around 6.8).

brewmaster15
02-18-2006, 12:04 PM
I don't like snails in a discus tank.. They can act as intermediates for parasites that can harm the fish.

imo,
al

Jeckel
02-18-2006, 03:39 PM
Al,

Do you have any more specific info on these parasites? I thought most snail-borne parasites need other hosts as well (i.e. birds) so they don't usually cause problems in aquaria.

Jerry

chicagophish
02-18-2006, 04:29 PM
Well if I can't use snails to control the algea in my tank, what should I use? I've read that some of the algea eating fish can get aggressive, so I thought snails would be a good idea...I guess not.
Any ideas?

pcsb23